Slide toggle


we keep it local, keep it real, craft with care; reclaim, reinvent, redesign; repurpose, reimagine, recreate; make it work, make it magic, make it great; use it up, wear it out, pay it forward; upcycle, recycle, recover; create intentionally, enhance whimsy, build beautifully…begin again…

This Months Birthstone

October Birthstone Opal

Chakra 4th

The Heart Chakra is associated with the parts of the consciousness concerned with relationships and our perceptions of love. The relationships we speak of here are with those people closest to our heart – partners, parents, siblings, children.

The parts of the body associated with this chakra include the heart and lungs, and the blood circulatory system as a system. This chakra is also associated with the thymus gland, which controls the immune system. When this is affected, as with AIDS, the person’s lifestyle separates them from someone they love.

The physical sense associated with this chakra is the sense of touch, in its aspect of relating to the person inside the body. For example, a massage given to someone with no sensitivity to what the person is feeling inside would be an example of the sensation we associate with the Abdominal Chakra, but when the masseur seems to have a sense of what the person inside the body is experiencing, then it includes the aspect of relating we associate with the Heart Chakra. When someone experiences extreme sensitivity about being touched, we would ask what was happening at the level of the Heart Chakra.

This chakra is associated with the element of air. When someone has difficulty with air, with breathing (asthma, emphysema, tuberculosis, etc.), we say that their relationship with air reflects their relationship with love – difficulty letting it in, or letting it out, for example

The color associated with the Heart Chakra is Emerald Green.

Responses: Love, respect, empathy, forgiveness

Governs: Heart and lungs

Scents: Jasmine, Lavender, Rose

Petals: A healthy Heart Chakra is a Pink Flower shape with 12 petals.


A transitional Chakra, this Chakra is the “bridge” between our physical humanity and our spirit/divinity.chakra_heart_small

If you were traumatized between the ages of 12-16, 42-46 or 72-76, you may have an unbalanced Fourth Chakra.

The Fourth Chakra is about love and empathy, about acceptance and grief, about bonding and respect for others. It’s about allowing freedom to those we love and understanding that we, too, require freedom to develop as human beings.

Lower Chakra imbalances, which translate to feelings of insecurity and a need to be validated–combined with a Heart Chakra imbalance, may lead a person to stay in an abusive relationship. The “love” they profess to feel is really a deep and desperate need for acceptance. They’re unable to see they have choices and that the conditions of their life are due to their own choices. It’s about feeling secure enough to realize they don’t need another’s approval, it’s about taking back their power and asserting themselves to obtain the sort of life they desire.

A Fourth Chakra imbalance may manifest as someone who criticizes everyone around them. They may be impossible to please, be passive aggressive and judgmental. Love is so frightening, they must control every aspect of their love’s life–for they have a deep fear of losing it. They may have trouble giving the needed freedom and respect to others, and therefore bring about what they so dread–loss of love.

Physical symptoms of an imbalanced Fourth Chakra may include frequent respiratory ailments and /or problems with the heart, blood, circulatory system and lungs.

Indicators of Fourth Chakra Imbalances:

  • Unable to act in a loving manner.
  • Inability to show compassion or empathy for other’s troubles.
  • Excessively eempathetic The classic “Bleeding Heart”.
  • Grieving for longer than 2 years as if “trapped” in sadness.
  • Exceedingly needy emotionally. Requiring so much sympathy that friends/family/lovers pull away. A black vortex of need.
  • Inability to accept other’s flaws, destructively critical of others,  judgmental.
  • Difficult to please. Defensive. Negative/Pessimist.
  • Heart and lung ailments.


chakra04Chakra Therapy might include laying the proper gemstone upon the Fourth Chakra for 5-25 minutes. You may find surrounding yourself with the Scents of the Fourth Chakra helpful. Visualize a Green or Pink Vortex of light in the shape of a flower emanating from your chest. If you’ve been hurt in love, visualize the person and imagine ribbons or tendrils connecting you to that person coming from the chest area. Now gently, let the person go, release the tendrils and visualize healing energy to the places in your heart where the tendrils were. Ask for healing and the ability to release the person from your life so that you both may continue on positive paths. Ask that the light release old pains and hurts and fill the place where the hurts were with love for yourself and love for others. Let it expand, growing in power. Then close the petals and keep the power inside to be drawn upon as needed.


  • Green Aventurine: Activator and clearer of Heart Chakra. Used to protect the Heart Chakra.
  • Rose Quartz: Instills self-love, gentleness, peace and calm.
  • Malachite: Clarifies and clear emotional blockages.
  • Jade: Attunes one to the needs of others. Improves self-reliance. Longevity.
  • Rhodochrosite: Brings love and balance to the life. Considered quite potent.
  • Pink Kunzite: Powerful at bringing peace and remove fear from those who’ve lost in love.
  • Rhodonite: Unconditional love. Powerful. Helps singers.
  • Pink Opal: Release old problems. Promote peace and self-love.
  • Lepidolite: Promotes an open heart, honesty and trust.
  • Emerald: Generates harmony in all aspects of life.


“I really like myself. I love myself! I’m my own best friend!”

“I love others and can see their remarkable individuality and specialness in the universe. They enrich me with their presence.”

“I cherish my freedom and the freedom of those I love for I know it allows us both to grow!”

Leave a Reply


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Follow by Email